5 Things Happening This September

Photo: MINE! My mom and I playing tourists at Gyeonbokgung palace


It is that time of the month again, where I try to set out what is happening/has already happened in x month. We’re in September now, the month is almost gone and I am now finally finding the time to write down stuff.

I won’t bore you with further promises of blogging more because I’m not sure I will, but I’ll try my absolute best to write a blog post about why I moved to Seoul, why I moved to London and etc. sooner rather than later.

So…5 Things Happening this September, YAY!

1. Learning to Live Alone

It’s tough out there, and I guess it all dawned on me when my mom, who was kind enough to accompany me to Seoul left after spending two weeks here with me. It’s when I saw her leaving at the airport that I thought: shit, I actually moved on the other side of the planet and I’m all alone.

Lord give me strength.

It’s an adjustment but I’ll get there (I hope). Adulthood here I come!

2.ย My first real paycheck?!

I can’t wait for the money to start rolling in. Soonish I’ll receive my first real salary.

Don’t get me wrong: I have worked and be paid before but this is so different, or at least it feels so to me. This is my first job out of uni, and I’m sure when I’ll have that paycheck in my hands I’ll feel like a millions buck for actually having made it. I have bills to pay, clothes to buy, and I’ll be able to do that without relying on scholarship money. I’ll be a real responsible human being. How time flies, people.

3. A month in Seoul…already?

On September 24th I’ll be celebrating a month in Seoul. Crazy. I’m slowly learning to fall in love with this city. It helps that it’s cheaper than London, and that I’ve learnt so much in this short space of time work wise and life wise. I’ve learnt that I’m stronger than I thought, I’ve learnt that although getting tons of responsibility is daunting as hell, I’m enjoying the challenges laid in front of me. I still have so much to do, and I can’t say that I know the city well but I look forward to the next few months in the city to fall in love with it even more.

4. Learning things

So my Korean is terrible. I’ve got to do something about it. The language of money is universal and my limited vocabulary has been somehow useful…but I’ve got to do something about this, hence I’ll try to attend language exchange events and consider looking into schools. The dream would be to take the TOPIK exam at some point so that I have something to study towards.

I also have to learn how to make friends. This is harder than one might think. I have been lucky enough to know some people who live in Seoul who have saved me from myself, but I’ve just got to get out there and meet people. I went out in Hongdae the other day and ended up meeting so many fabulous people, who I will make an effort to keep in touch with. I’ll get there.

5. Appreciating the present

Easier said than done, especially for me who constantly think about the steps ahead, but I’m trying to learn to live more in the moment. So far I’ve been successful, taking each day as it comes. Of course I’ve been looking at what my next steps could be but I confess that for the first time in my life I haven’t been consumed with thoughts of what I would make of my life. I have a plan, but it’s not set in stone. Right now, I’m sitting in a cute and quaint coffee shop near my one-room and I’m enjoying life, kids. Hope I’ll be able to do the same for the rest of the month.

 

One thought on “5 Things Happening This September

  1. Dear uor baby,
    We’ve red your blog so we loved it so much. We hope that you will find all the best think in the world. We wish you all tha best.
    Your parents.
    Mamma e papi.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

