5 Things Happening this July

Photo: John Izatt-Lowry (aka one of my besties)


I know, I know. I promised I would publish more often but time passed, had a bit of a family emergency to deal with and now it’s already the July 11.

I’ll try to be better. And this time I’m sincere.

Anyway….5 things happening this July

1. Graduation!

I’ve done it. The exam results refused to come but then Monday happened. And I’ve got a 2.1.! I have got to wait until the end of the month for my mortar board and gown moment but I’m excited. I have already had the chance to thank the many who have helped me along the way, but there’s nothing wrong in repeating the fact that I’m grateful. For someone who thought I’d have to rusticate (= take a leave of absence) I’ve come a long way. I’ve come a long way from small town life in Italy with parents who did not have the chance to go to university to Oxford.

2. Working life?

Yes. Sadly/thankfully I’ve got something organised. I’m starting a 2 week internship at a law firm next week and I’m excited! I’ll be keeping an open mind and try to act like a sponge, absorbing everything that happens around me. Hopefully, I’ll learn a lot, I’ll meet many interesting people and I’ll have fun – as much as you can have fun whilst working.

3. Organising stuff

I’ve got an email with 600 emails to read. They’re all old and I felt sentimental at the idea of getting rid of them before I read them but we all know they’ll never be seen. I’ve got to put some order in my life, finish unpacking from where I finally moved home from uni a month ago, and start organising another move. (I hope you’re curious…but my mouth is sealed until everything is finalised).

4. Blog more (hopefully)

Apparently last week my blog had its first birthday? I can’t believe it’s been a year. This has been hands down the best attempt I’ve made at blogging. I hope I keep it up next year, but I hope I’ll be able to kick it up a notch with posts on politics, poetry, and general tips that I’ve found useful along the way (how to make a CV, why you need to study what you love at uni types of posts).

5. SPECTRA

For those who don’t know, I’ve been working for a while at this side project of mine called SPECTRA. It has one simple aim: “bringing you women in colours“, which is in a nutshell challenge current representation of women in the media. It’s all finally coming along nicely. We have a website and we’re working on creating amazing content. The launch date is the 31st of July and we’ll start with an event in London in Depford. If you’re around on that day, I’d love for you to come! Check out the website and sign up for more info.

Follow my blog with bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

