Throwback: DC Adventures

Photo credit:  Claire Anderson via Unsplash

In the summer of 2014, I worked at McDonalds for a month, got funding from my college and went to the US. On my own.

I was scared, my parents were also scared but it was one of the best decisions I ever made.

I had previously written about that month in my previous blog (“The Repocrat”) but I wanted to share my early attempts at blogging with you guys.


 

Travel: The Modern First World Saga

A Memoir by Asta Diabaté.

That’s what a dear friend of mine commented at my posting on Facebook the following:

“First order of business after settling in my room: getting my Starbucks Frappuccino. Then, I can worry about SIM cards, and food and etc.”

I did get my Starbucks Frappuccino. I was, however, shocked. Too sweet for my taste, granted that I asked the barista to add vanilla syrup and forgot to ask for an extra shot of espresso. Still.

Food here seriously seems to be sweeter. I tried the “butter” that they give at breakfast and I can tell you that that is not butter as the Lord intended it.

I did buy the SIM Card, speeding around $70 to be granted internet in order to survive in DC and beyond. And that’s another thing that I find strange. The fact that I do not know how much something is going to cost fully because the taxes get added on the spot.

Have I been productive since I’ve got to DC around 3 days ago? Have I had the chance to sightsee and meet people?

IMG_0743

My pathetic attempt of taking a selfie.

Yes and no? Yesterday was the only day where I took time to visit stuff. I went to the National Museum of American History. I’ve seen Julia Child’s kitchen!

IMG_0747

IMG_0748

Julia’s Kitchen

I could not see everything that I wanted. Sad affair. It is my fault though, since I spent more than an hour in the Food Exhibition section of the Museum.

IMG_0745

McDs’ Take Away thingies in the 1990s

One of the highlights of the visit: seeing the Lunch Counter of the Greensboro Sit-in!

IMG_0749

But, I’ve been productive! I’ve been dividing my time between finally chilling after a few hectic months;  watching trash TV (The Real Housewives of NYC at the moment because unfortunately I can’t find episodes of The Real Housewives of DC); and starting my research.

The research bit is arguably the best bit, even though trash TV is clearly a close second. I’m currently trying to figure out whether I want to focus on architecture and its role in propaganda or on the branding of the GOP. I’ve been so diligent that last night I ended up going to bed around 2 am after watching this documentary on the Tea Party. Hurray. Scary that I found myself agreeing with some of the things they were thinking…..

As I write this blog post, I am lounging on my hostel bed, whilst face-timing my dad who is currently watching a football (or should I say soccer?) game of Ivory Coast vs. Sierra Leon (is that how you spell it?)

I’ve got to go to Barnes &Nobles now and snoop for interesting books to buy since everything seems cheaper here.

‘Till next time.


Have you recently been thinking about some of your travels? Let me know!

One thought on “Throwback: DC Adventures

Leave a Reply

