Dear America: A Poem

 

Dear America,

As I stare outside looking in from a window located miles away from you, I cannot help but say to you that I’m sorry.

I’m sorry you have to deal with this. I’m sorry you have had to deal with this since the day that the European man decided to come to you and make you his with no regards to your children who were forced to the edges of you.

I’m sorry that you have seen so much pain and suffering and that you’ve cried blood, sweat and tears as you witnessed acts of atrocities on your soil.

I’m sorry that what you stand for is being vilified and trampled on by a bunch of people who seem to have no understanding of your history, of your dreams and hopes for the future.

 

Dear America,

You have every right to be upset when life, liberty and pursuit of happiness -your best friends and family- are hurt on a daily basis aggressed, hijacked, and at times raped.

You have every right to be upset when your friend, Liberty, who you have kindly hosted for years is being blatantly disrespected and ignored by the people who are supposed to be your people.

“Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

– taken from New Colossus, the sonnet on the Statue of Liberty

You have every right to be upset when equality is ignored in every way possible. When equality is a thing de jure but not really de facto.

You have every right to be upset when so many lives are lost to bloodshed by people in uniforms and randoms who got too mad and felt that a gun was the only solution.

 You can scream and shout to be heard but your mouth opens and nothing comes out. You try as hard as you can to voice your frustration and your tears but…nothing seems to matter.

 

 

Dear America,

I know you’re pissed off that those that have been put in charge to make it better make it ten times worse.

I know you’re pissed off that dangerous clowns like Donald Trump are ruining everything, epitomising the chipping away at the progress that has been made years before.

 I have a Dream has become I have a Nightmare. Instead of hope you see despair. And it pains you,

And it pains me as I stare in from the outside.

And it should pain all of you.

 

Dear America,

I know you cry at night when no one can see you. At times you don’t cry at all, for ages, because you feel like you have cried too many tears.

I wish I could tell you that it will all be okay but I don’t know how to make it better because I don’t know if it’ll ever get better.

 

Dear America,

I’m sorry.


I wrote this poem last December. I had seen something that Donald Trump and other Republican candidates had said in the news and I was mad.

Since this poem other sad events have occurred in the United States. The killer of Tamir Rice walks free, islamophobia is rampant and other equally depressing things have happened, and will happen in 2016.

It’s an election year and I hope the American people will get out and vote in droves to make sure that the United States will see better days.

For the full text of the New Colossus, click here.
Leave a Reply

