Writing 101: The Future

I’m currently on a flight to London. So I won’t be able to post this until I reach home.

Today is the end of a mini journey. Writing 101 is over, and I find it oddly funny how the last prompt is about the future.

I find it funny because I spend much of my time agonizing about the future, about the what if I, and what if I don’t. Would it be beneficial for me to indulge in this activity? Think about my future plans, and thinking about how my life will look like 5, 10, 20 years from now?

After all, things hardly turn out to be exactly how you imagined them. I was supposed to meet the man of my dreams at uni, and now I don’t think I would like to be in a relationship at this stage of my life.

But if I had to indulge, I would say that…

5 years from now….

I’m sitting in a coffee shop somewhere in the world. I have a job that I love, and the field allows me to deal with the things I care about and to be creative.

I might have decided at some point to go back home, back to Italy. I might have decided to get involved with Italian politics. I might have decided to move to Canada, or Singapore or somewhere. I might be working in political communications, dealing with elections. I might be working for myself as a freelance writer. I don’t know.

I still write. In fact, I’m in this coffee shop because I want to dedicate some time to my writing. I’m trying to write a song/a poem/a short story/a novel/an essay. And suddenly I remember that day when I was on a flight to London, imagining my future. Life has not turned out the way I imagined it to be but I hope I’m happy with who I am.

10 years from now…

I’m sitting in a coffee shop. I may be single/with a boyfriend/married. I have graduated from cappuccinos and lattes to drinking real coffee, indulging myself with an espresso at least once a day. I have just finished having a conversation with parents via FaceTime. They look older, but so do I. I’m 31, Geez! And time has been going so fast, and I feel like I just blinked and ten years have passed.

I’m still in touch with some of my friends, lost track of some, and sometimes I go out with a bunch of acquaintances I’ve kept since I was young.

I’m still agonizing about the future. I might be thinking about starting my own business, or I might already have one. I may be a writer, a screenwriter, a spoken word poet. I may be working in government, I may be a consultant. I don’t know.

I may be in Italy, I may be back in London, I may be somewhere in Australia or settled in LA. I don’t know.

As I sip my espresso calmly, after coming from a yoga class, I smile thinking back to that time ten years ago when I was writing that blog post on how I imagined my future.

I just know that life has not turned out the way I imagined it 5 years ago or even 10 years ago. But I hope I’m happy with who I am.

20 years from now…

I’m 41. And I’m sitting in a coffee shop. This is one of my favorites. The coffee is the closest thing to authentic as I can get here. It reminds me of when I used to live with my parents and I would complain about my dad’s excessive coffee drinking habits. He would use the mocha and make it fresh. There’s no need to go to a coffee shop when you can  make it nice and fresh at home.

It reminds me of home.

I’ve realized with the years that a place is not really your home. And family is still after all these years everything. My mom’s hair is completely grey. My dad sports a white beard, but still black hair. We see each other as much as we can.

I might have a family of my own, my own kids to pick up from school.. They might love music, they might even love football (-.-). I might have learnt that being a parent is the hardest job ever. You love ‘em with all of you but sometimes you can’t stand them. Or I might not have a family of my own. I don’t know.

I might have a Wikipedia page. One that narrates what I’ve been doing career wise. I might be an acclaimed author/a producer/an entrepreneur/a songwriter/a mother/a wife/an ex-wife/ a friend/a mentor. Or I might be none of those things. Or I might be some of those things. I don’t know.

As I sit here, sipping my coffee, I know that life has not turned out how I had imagined. It’s been fun, it’s been unexpected, upsetting, weird and lovely. But I hope I’m happy with who I am.


How do you see yourself in the next 5, 10, 20 years? What are your wishes for the future? Let me know in the comment section below!

7 thoughts on “Writing 101: The Future

  1. I love your repetition of “I’m sitting in a coffee shop.” There’s a rhythm in this post that I really appreciate. I love your general musings on what ifs and the future — for some reason, it reminded me of a post I once wrote on my parallel universes, which I formatted as an outline: http://cherilucasrowlands.com/2011/01/28/musing-an-outline-of-my-parallel-universes/

    Great featured image, too — I like the shot of your notebook!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Cheri. Glad that the idea of rhythm came across nice and that you liked my feature image. I was either going to delete the photo or find something useful to do with it. I’ll be sure to check out your post and let you know what I think! You had me at parallel universe.

      Like

Leave a Reply

