I Am Me -Flaws and All: A Poem

Does my aspect shock you
Does my hair distract you
Do my big lips…

When you see me…

Does my body speak for itself?
Do you read my body language
Or has your mind been corrupted by society’s stereotype of
me.

Does my aspect please you
Images of me swaying my hips
Dancing a dance to entice your senses

Do my actions confuse you?
When image and fantasy do not match
reality

Do my words reach your ears
Or only the way my voice sounds
and your desire to control that voice, those sounds?

Am I your secret fantasy,
the fantasy you are unable to talk to with your friends

Am I the innocent lamb
or the fiery lioness you want to
dominate…

Am I the one playing hard to get
or the slut who’s asking for it….

Am I ever…

A woman, whose sexuality does not concern you
A woman, whose aspect and hair and big lips exist
independent of your
judgement.

Am I not a woman…
Or am I a piece of meat for you
to wish to bite and savor,
the bone of which is to be thrown away
once the meal has been consumed…

Does my aspect shock you
Does my hair distract you
Do my big lips…
disgust you?

I’m talking to you.

You who is unable to see beyond the concentration of melanin in my skin
You who sees me and sees hoe
You who sees me and only see an unfit mother to be,
who will surely end up on welfare with my thousands kids becoming thugs and delinquents.

You who sees me and see Red
Because I deserve to be put in my place
Because I deserve worse than I have
Because I’m a waste of space,
a waste of breath

A waste of…something, damn it!

You see me and you think: go back from where you came from
You see me and you think: she just hasn’t worked hard enough.

But you are not the only one
Who has shit to say about me.

My mama always says that
You cannot be alive and expect people not to have something to say about you.

So now I’m talking to you.

You who says that I’m an Oreo or a coconut.
You who take my experience and deny its existence.
You who say shit about me being a darker shade than you.
You who says shit about what I do, how I do it, when I do it.

And now I’m talking to me
and to the thousands of people like me

Who looked at my reflection and saw unlikable
Who looked at my reflection and saw unlovable
Who looked at my reflection and saw my kinky nappy hair
Who looked at my reflection and saw big lips

But now I look at my reflection and see greatness
I see greatness in my lips that I proudly paint in red
I see greatness in my eyes and in my hair
– untouched by the chemicals that try to make it straight.

I see greatness in embracing me,
because I am me

Flaws and all.

2 thoughts on “I Am Me -Flaws and All: A Poem

    1. OM…thank you so much for your kind words. I’m glad you liked it! I definitely will keep writing, no matter what.

      When I first wrote down the poem I imagined it as a spoken word poetry piece. Super happy that I can somehow convey the rhythm I had in mind when I recorded it.

      Thank you again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

